Moses Sumney Announces Sophcore EP, Shares New Song “Gold Coast”: Listen

Products You May Like

Moses Sumney Announces Sophcore EP, Shares New Song “Gold Coast”: Listen

His first new record in three years clocks in with six tracks total

Moses Sumney on the beach

Moses Sumney (photo by Aria Herbst)

Moses Sumney has announced a new EP. His first new record in three years is titled Sophcore and arrives August 2 via his label Tuntum. The indie rock singer-songwriter has also shared the new song “Gold Coast,” which you can listen to below.

Sophcore is fifth EP of Sumney’s career, following 2018’s Black in Deep Red, 2014. It spans six tracks in total, including “Gold Coast” and the previously released song “Vintage” from June. “Sophcore explores the meeting points between sensuality and intuition…esotericism and populism…deep feeling and fun,” Sumney said in a press release. “It’s diving into subterranean rhythm, bass and drums, and making music for the hips as well as the heart.”

Sumney put out the live album Live From Blackalachia, featuring the single “Bystanders (In Space),” back in 2021. He’s contributed to soundtracks for The Idol and Everything Everywhere All at Once in the time since then, and hopped onscreen as an actor in the horror movie MaXXXine. When it comes to proper albums, however, it’s been awhile; Sumney’s most recent LP was 2020’s Græ.

Revisit the Cover Story “Moses Sumney Is Ready to Claim His Spotlight” and read about Græ at No. 3 on “The 50 Best Albums of 2020.”


01 I’m Better (I’m Bad)
02 Vintage
03 Whippedlashed
04 Gold Coast
05 Hey Girl
06 Love’s Refrain

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

‘Gladiator II’ Trailer Ranks Among Paramount’s Most Viewed At 180 Million-Plus
10 New Albums You Should Listen to Now: Sturgill Simpson, Clairo, Cassandra Jenkins, and More
Shh! Amazon Secretly Added These Top Designers to Its Prime Day Sales
Missy Elliott’s “The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly)” Sent Into Outer Space by NASA
‘Claim to Fame’ Season 3 Cast: Celebrity Relative Reveals, Theories & Clues