New Book Switched On Chronicles Latin American Women in Electronic Music

Products You May Like

New Book Switched On Chronicles Latin American Women in Electronic Music

Jacqueline Nova, Beatriz Ferreyra, Elsa Justel, and more are highlighted in a collection of essays, interviews, and photos

Jacqueline Nova

Jacqueline Nova, photo courtesy of the artist’s family

Beatriz Ferreyra, Jacqueline Nova, Elsa Justel, Leni Alexander, and more artists are featured in a new book chronicling Latin America’s pioneering women in electronic music during the mid-20th century. Switched On: The Dawn of Electronic Sound by Latin American Women is out now via Contingent Sounds, a Berlin-based publishing company.

Over 210 pages, Switched On compiles interviews, essays, photos, and reviews to look at the role that Latin American women played in the development of electronic music. The expansive list of composers and sound artists featured in the book includes Jocy de Oliveira, Mónica O’Reilly Viamontes, Nelly Moretto, Oksana Linde, Patricia Belli, Alicia Urreta, Teresa Burga, Eulalia Bernard, and Graciela Castillo, among many others. Also included is an interview with Beatriz Ferreyra by Pitchfork contributing editor Isabelia Herrera.

Switched On was edited by independent curator, researcher, and Buh Records founder Luis Alvarado and experimental musician, researcher, and multimedia artist Alejandra Cardenas aka Ale Hop.

Read “This Great New Book Chronicles the Indie Blog Era Across Latin America and Its Diaspora.”

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Box Office: Alex Garland’s ‘Civil War’ Opens No. 1 With History-Making $25.7M for A24
J. Cole Removes “7 Minute Drill” From Streaming Services
Hailey Bieber Is Obsessed With This Affordable Jewelry Brand
‘Law & Order: OC’: Joe’s Lies Will Catch Up to Him, Plus More Stabler Brothers Scoop
‘Back to Black’ Review: Flawed but Affecting Amy Winehouse Biopic Benefits From Marisa Abela’s Intensely Physical Performance